Noam Chomsky and Doug Richardson
2017 World Geography Bowl Championship team with Glen MacDonald
2016 Honorary Geographer Judith Butler
2017 AAG Atlas Awardee Noam Chomsky and AAG Executive Director Doug Richardson The 2017 World Geography Bowl champions with AAG President Glen MacDonald 2016 AAG Honorary Geographer Judith Butler

Special Events

As the schedule and program for the 2019 Annual Meeting comes together in the coming months, special events, plenary sessions, and featured sessions will be listed on this page to help highlight items of interest for all attendees. Please check back soon for more information.

2019 Special Events

AAG Atlas Award Ceremony

Friday April 5, 12pm
The American Association of Geographers invites attendees of the 2019 AAG Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., to join in celebration of Carla Hayden at the AAG Atlas Award Ceremony. Carla Hayden, 14th Librarian of Congress, will deliver a keynote address at noon on Friday, April 5, after being presented with the 2019 AAG Atlas Award, the association’s highest honor.

Sworn in as the current Librarian of Congress on September 14, 2016, Hayden is both the first woman and the first African American to serve in the position. She is also the first professional librarian to hold the office in more than 60 years. Hayden was recommended to serve as the librarian by former president Barack Obama in February 2016. Following an extensive social media campaign organized by the American Library Association (#Hayden4LOC) urging thousands of library advocates to contact their senators and appeal for the confirmation of Hayden as the new librarian, Hayden was appointed on July 13, 2016.